Major League Baseball has finally commented on the “Interference” from last sunday’s game, & MLB told us all what we already knew:

Mike Port, Major League Baseball’s vice president of umpiring, Thursday told the St. Petersburg Times that it was “a missed call” that led to the Sox’s A.J. Pierzynski reaching third base and eventually scoring the winning run.

Port said umpire Doug Eddings believed he saw Pierzynski “impeded more than he was” by Aybar, who was chasing Pierzynski in a rundown.

“Looking back at that occurrence, for the first and last time, it was a missed call,” Port said told the Times. “And it was not because Doug Eddings, an umpire with 10 years experience, and 10 before that in the minor leagues, didn’t know the application of the rule, but just that in the moment in applying the rule, he saw something he thought was more than it turned out to be.”

While we will never know how the game would have ended last sunday had the call gotten right, we do know that the Sox caught a major, MAJOR break in this botched call. In a battle with Minnesota & Boston for playoff spots that will mostly come down to the last week or last game of the season, stealing that one on sunday was huge.